Tony takes the helm at wonderful Wyre

Over 50 brethren gathered at Fleetwood Masonic Hall to witness Tony Moran being installed into the WM’s chair of Wyre Lodge No 7704. It was the second time he had attained the chair, the first occasion being back in the year 2000.

Tony Moran (left), is congratulated by Tony Blundell.

The lodge was delighted to receive Keith Beardmore as the representative of the Provincial Grand Master Tony Harrison. He was supported by fellow grand officers Stuart Thornber and North Fylde Group Chairman Duncan Smith, together with acting Provincial grand officer Creag Williams.

The regular lodge business was deftly dispatched by the master Tony Blundell, who proceeded to invite Frank Kennedy to act as installing senior warden, Andy Walch to act as installing junior warden and Ron Fenton to act as installing inner guard.

Tony was expertly and sincerely installed by Tony Blundell, whilst the working tools were well presented by Ron Crewdson, Danny Whalley and Ken Mackie. Bob Hopwood delivered the address to Tony and this was followed by addresses to the wardens by Duncan Smith and to the brethren of the lodge by Keith Beardmore.

At the conclusion of the installation, Keith congratulated all the brethren who had contributed to making the ceremony such a success and wished everyone well for the ensuing year. In response and on behalf of the lodge members, Tony presented Keith with cheques for charities with a magnificent combined total of £1,500, including £200 to the Mustard Seed charity and £1,000 to the Masonic Charitable Foundation 2021 Festival. Keith thanked the lodge on behalf of the recipients.

Following the ceremony, the brethren enjoyed a superb festive board which included lamb Henry as the main course. A raffle for charities took place which raised £289. The toast to the newly made master was given by the immediate past master Tony Blundell and the master’s song was rendered by John Darrell. At the conclusion of a splendid evening the tyler’s toast was delivered by Gordon Ivett.

Pictured from left to right, are: Stuart Thornber, Keith Beardmore, Tony Moran, Tony Blundell and Duncan Smith.