The Care team

  • Eric Hart is Provincial Grand Almoner, he reports to the Assistant Provincial Grand Master who has principal responsibility for the care team within the Province.

    Through the care structure, Eric’s key aim is to provide and maintain a centre of excellence in the care system within the Province of West Lancashire. To achieve this aim he will consult with the senior officers of the Province, executives of the various charities, his deputy and the care team.

    In addition Eric will endeavour to insure that the lodge and chapter almoners are fully aware of their duties and responsibilities and that there is a high level of support available to cater for their clients needs.

  • Eric Hart

  • Paul Broadley

  • Eric is supported by his deputy Paul Broadley, Elaine Hansen from the MCF Advice and Support team.

    Jon Measures the minute and supplies secretary and Jim Woods who is the Admin Support Officer.

    • Elaine-Hansen
      Elaine Hansen
      Advice and Support team

    • Jon Measures
      Minute and supplies secretary

    • Jim Woods
      Jim Woods
      Admin Support Officer to PrGA

Eric is also supported by three separate groups of equal standing working together, the structure consisting of:

  • 17 Admin Care Officers (ACOs)
  • Eight Admin and PR Care Officers (APRCOs)
  • 15 Pastoral Care Officers (PCOs)
  • Admin Care Officers

    The team of admin care officers have been trained to act as specialist administrators. They are responsible for all applications, allowing lodge and chapter almoners to concentrate on pastoral care for their clients.

    The administration of applications to the four central Masonic Charities, under the new Masonic Charitable Foundation, and the West Lancashire Freemasons’ Charity, is carried out by the ACOs who cover specified post code areas in the Province (This has been determined geographically and not by groups or lodges).

    The role of the ACO is to ensure the swift and accurate completion and submission of all grant applications and re-applications within his specified area.

  • Click on the +> button below to see the post code areas.

    Post code areas covered by the admin care officers.

    Barrow in Furness LA 9-18
    Lancaster LA 1-7
    Preston PR 1-5
    Chorley/Leyland PR 6,7, 25,26 BB3
    North Fylde/Blackpool FY 2, 5-7
    South Fylde/Blackpool FY 1, 3, 4, 8
    Southport/Ormskirk PR 8, 9 L 39, 40
    Wigan/Leigh WN 1-8
    Warrington /St Helens and Prescot WA 1-6, 9-12
    Bootle/Liverpool North L3-5, 9-11, 20-22, 30 CH 44, 45
    Liverpool South/Widnes L1, 6-8,12-19, 24-28, 35, 36 WA 7-9
    Eccles M28-31, 33, 38, 41-46 BL 1-6
    Wirral CH41-48, 60-64
    Liverpool Central L1-8
    Note: Any post code areas not listed above are covered by the PGA or his deputy

  • Robert Bennett
    Robert Bennett
    Responsible for North Fylde and Blackpool

  • Tony Hale
    Responsible for South Fylde and Blackpool

  • Ken Robinson
    Ken Robinson
    Responsible for Barrow in Furness

  • Eric-BinksEric Binks
    Responsible for Southport and Ormskirk

  • Wayne-Bleacher
    Wayne Beacher
    Responsible for North Fylde and Blackpool

  • Mike Dickenson
    Responsible for South Fylde and Blackpool

  • Robert-Stafford
    Robert Stafford
    Responsible for Preston

  • Alan-Howarth
    Robert Teesdale
    Responsible for Southport and Ormskirk

  • John Lomax
    John Lomax
    Responsible for Wigan

  • David Morgan
    Responsible for Lancaster

  • Steve-Riley
    Steven Riley
    Responsible for Liverpool South and Widnes

  • John AshstonJohn Ashton
    Responsible for Bootle and Liverpool North

  • Neal Atkinson
    Responsible for Chorley and Leyland

  • David Berrington
    Responsible for Warrington

  • robert-gibson-thumbnailRobert Gibson
    Responsible for Liverpool Central

  • Derek ElstonDerek Elston
    Responsible for Wirral

  • Frank Simpson
    Responsible for Eccles and Urmston

Admin Care and PR Officers

The role of the APRCOs is a dual function, the first is to provide back-up to the Admin Care Officer in the administration of applications, this will ensure there is 52 week coverage for our clients. This ensures the swift and accurate completion and submission of all applications and re-applications.

The APRCOs will also give presentations to lodges, chapters and fellowship meetings to continue the important work of spreading the ‘Care’ message.

The APRCOs must also be familiar and conversant with the work of, and applications procedures relevant to, the new Masonic Charitable Foundation and the West Lancashire Freemasons’ Charity.

  • Ken Robinson
    Ken Robinson
    Responsible for Lancaster and Barrow

  • Arthur CartainArthur Cartain
    Responsible for Blackpool, North and South Fylde

  • Antony Price
    Responsible for Chorley and Leyland

  • George SeddonGeorge Seddon
    Responsible for Wigan and Leigh

  • Robert-Teesdale
    Alan Haworth
    Responsible for Preston

  • Tom Bradfield-KayTom Bradfield-Kay
    Responsible for Ormskirk and Bootle

  • Karl BrennanKarl Brennan
    Responsible for Liverpool and Widnes

  • Vacant
    Responsible for Eccles, Warrington, St Helens and Prescot

Pastoral Care Officers

Because the almoners role has grown substantially over recent years, the new care structure was introduced in order to reduce the work load, enabling almoners to allow them to concentrate on home visits where they should aim to visit all brethren and Masonic widows at least four to six times a year.

The role of the pastoral care officer is to work with lodge and chapter almoners in order to focus their support on their clients and to improve their knowledge of the care system.  The PCO is also responsible for briefing the group officers in his area about any new initiatives or processes introduced in the Province by the care team for the  Masonic Charitable Foundation.

  • Brian CowardBrian Coward
    Responsible for the Furness and South Lakeland Group

  • John HolmesJohn Holmes
    Responsible for the Lancaster Group

  • Peter-MannPeter Mann
    Responsible for the Blackpool and North Fylde (Cleveleys) Groups

  • Graham-SmithGraham Smith
    Responsible for the South Fylde and North Fylde (Fleetwood) Groups

  • David AsbridgeDavid Asbridge
    Responsible for the Preston Group

  • Malcolm SchofieldMalcolm Schofield
    Responsible for the Chorley and Leyland Groups

  • Norman Hilton
    Responsible for the Wigan and Leigh Groups

  • Derek MidgleyDerek Midgley
    Responsible for the Ormskirk and Bootle Group

  • Derek ElstonDerek Elston
    Responsible for the Gladstone and Garston Groups

  • Clifford-Hughes V2Cliff Hughes
    Responsible for the Liverpool and Woolton Groups

  • Tom Bradfield-KayTom Bradfield-Kay
    Responsible for Southport

  • colin-latimer-thumbnailColin Latimer
    Responsible for the Eccles and South Eastern Groups

  • Jon supports widows and brethren who originate from other Provinces in all areas except the Fylde Coast.

  • Jon Measures
    Responsible for widows and brethren

  • Michael Hamilton
    Responsible for the Warrington, St Helens and Prescot and Widnes Groups

  • Ken Oxley
    Responsible for the Fylde coast

  • Ken supports widows and brethren in the Fylde Coast area, who originate from other Provinces.