Historic meeting for Masonic Shooting Societies

An historic meeting held at Freemasons Hall saw 10 Masonic Provinces were represented to discuss, and agree, the formation of a National Association of Masonic Clay Shooting Societies.

The meeting, hosted by the Metropolitan Grand Lodge of London (MetGL) and chaired by Brian Saidman, discussed the Constitution and By-laws for the proposed formation of the new National Society and agreed some of the conditions for hosting the National Championships.

A nominal fee was set for membership and the details to finalise the By-laws was left in the hands of a small steering committee.

The committee is to be chaired by Brian Saidman (MetGL) with Mike Casey (West Lancashire) as Vice Chair. Roger Wilkes (East Kent) is to be Secretary and Cliff Jones (Hertfordshire) will be Treasurer

They will present the finalised By-laws and a document outlining the conditions for hosting the National Championships to the other Provinces at the earliest opportunity.

The formation of this new Society should put Masonic Clay Shooting on a firm footing for future years.

The discussions start.

The discussions start.

The Provinces represented were:

Metropolitan – Brian Saidman, Marc Price and Keith Goodman
West Lancs –  Mike Casey, Lawrence Alston and Graham Brereton
Kent Roger Wilkes, Ray Suddick and Nick Jenkins
Essex Rob Hollier, Paul Reeves and Mike Gravenor
Wiltshire – Peter Dyke
Suffolk – Roger Nash
West Kent – Stuart Darby
Hertfordshire – Chris Lynch, Jim Stutley, Svend Jensen and Cliff Jones
Middlesex – Don Campbell
Jersey (by proxy) – Brian Saidman